Broadband FAQs

From signing up to usage and boosters, you can find out all you need to know about our broadband services here.

How can I sign up for Broadband?

To get connected with Sure Broadband, you will first require a telephone line. You can find more information about organising a telephone line by clicking here.

Once you have decided on a package, you can download and complete our Broadband application form. If you would like advice on choosing a package, please call freephone 131 or get in touch with us via the Contact Us page.

A copy of our service agreement is appended to our broadband application form.

Broadband speeds explained

Connection speed: This is the fastest speed between the telephone exchange or street side cabinet to your router. This is the speed you receive into your home and the speed we quote when you buy a new broadband service.
Throughput speed: This is the actual speed you experience on a device (computer/phone/tablet etc.) that's connected to your broadband over Wi-Fi, or wired connection. Due to the nature of Wi-Fi, these speeds may be slower than your connection speed. These speeds are also affected by other factors such as the layout of your home and interference between your router and your devices.
Up to speeds: These are the advertised "up to" speeds which are the maximum speeds broadband services are expected to achieve.

How do I find my broadband speeds?

Connection speed:
1. Disconnect a computer's (laptop or desktop) Wi-Fi connection and connect it directly to your router using an Ethernet cable.
2. Turn off the routers Wi-Fi connection. Instructions on this can be found within the router's instruction manual.
3. Open the Speedtest located on our website www.sure.co.fk in your choice of browser and follow the onscreen instructions to test your Connection Speed.

How do I monitor my data usage?

We recommend that you check your usage regularly. You can do this by clicking here. You will be prompted to enter your Broadband username and password, these details can be found in your introductory letter when you first applied for broadband.

If you have lost or forgotten your details, please contact Customer Services. At the top of the usage portal your hourly totals will be displayed showing the previous 24hours. In the middle you will see your daily total and at the bottom, your monthly history. This portal will update hourly.

Additionally, you can sign up for email and text alerts. We send you alerts when your reach 80%, 95%, 100% and so on, of your package. To sign up to this service, click the Alerts link at the bottom of your usage portal.

What will happen when I reach 100% of my package allowance?

Customers will experience a hard stop, in the form of disconnection, in the period following the hour in which they have reached 100% of their package. As our portal updates hourly, your usage may show that you have exceeded your monthly allowance, but this over use will not be charged for unless you opt in to overage or purchase a Data Booster, at which point it will be charged for at the applicable rate.

What does ‘Opting in to Overage’ and ‘Data Boosters’ mean?

When your broadband package has reached 100% you may choose to be reconnected to the service. There are two ways in which you can do this, the first being to purchase a Data Booster:

Data Boosters come in three sizes:

Boosters3

Alternatively, you may choose to incur charges at the normal overage rate for your package. If you wish to be reconnected you will need to call in to Sure on freephone 131 to reactivate your account after reaching 100%, informing our Sure representative of your choice of Data Booster, or if you are opting in to overage charges.

Can I purchase a Booster or authorise overage before I get to 100%?

Yes, Boosters can be purchased, and overage authorised, before you reach the end of your package so you won’t be disconnected at 100% of your normal allowance. We recommend business customers and any customers performing large downloads that may take you to the end of your package to consider this as once 100% has been reached your connection will cease, regardless of what tasks are being carried out.

Can I purchase more than one Booster in a month?

Yes, you can take more than one Booster package this can be applied to you account each month. If, or before, you reach the end of your booster allowance you can choose to opt in to overage at your standard package rate, or remain offline until the beginning of the next month.

Will you notify me when I am nearing the end of my booster allowance?

Yes, so long as you are already signed up to email or text alerts, you will receive the same 80%, 95% and 100% notifications that you do for your standard package, for your booster allowance.

If I choose not to purchase a Booster, or opt in to overage, will my account automatically restart at the beginning of the next month?

Yes, accounts will automatically reactivate from 12:01am at the start of the new month. You may need to power cycle your modem or router to re-authenticate on our network.

Free night time window

Our broadband package customers can enjoy our free night time window, between midnight and 6am.

This is a free service and we cannot guarantee the quality of service and we reserve the right to implement our Fair Usage Policy. Remember that any usage incurred after 6am will be deducted from your package allowance.

To guarantee that no usage can cross over into the chargeable period at 6am you should stop any software 10 to 15 minutes before the end of the window.

We remind customers that we do not condone the downloading of copyrighted material, for example movies or music. We will be complying with requests from the copyright holder or their legal representatives to supply the details of the infringing user.

Can I still access the free window after reaching 100%?

No, once an account has reached 100% there will be a hard stop and the connection will totally cease until the beginning of the new month unless you have purchased a booster or opted in to overage. If you choose to reconnect through a Booster or overage then the free nighttime window can again be utilised.

How can I change my package?

To upgrade or downgrade your package, please click here.

How do I terminate my package?

After you have completed your initial contract period, you can terminate your contract at any time. You can find a termination form here.

Please note that if you terminate your service mid month, you will still receive the full monthly cost and allowance for your package.

Early termination during the initial 12 month period will result in an early termination fee becoming due.